Buddy's Mama, the Runner

My running journal and random photos.

Monday, February 27, 2006

Getting motivated again

My motivation must be creeping back slowly...I actually got up at 6:20 (good thing, too, as Andy's alarm didn't go off!) and even though it was 56 degrees outside, I suited up for a run. My goal today was 40 minutes. I did 4.30 miles.

Last year around this time, I entered into my first race ever, the St. Paddy's 4 miler. I had such a blast and was instantly hooked on racing. Unfortunately, we have to go away this weekend (but for a wonderful reason!), and I won't be able to go to the race this year. But I still have a couple of good races to repeat from last year, coming up next month.


Run time: 42:08

Distance: 4.30 miles

Avg. Pace: 9:48 / mi

Thursday, February 23, 2006

Thrills and spills

Woohoo! I actually got up slightly earlier today and ran! I set three goals today (four, if you count actually getting up and running!): (1) Run 10 laps (arbitrary, yes, but I figured it would take me about an hour...); (2) Run for 1 hour; and (3) Run 7 miles.

I actually tried the whole run-walk thing, which, up till this point I had been stubbornly against. And with no good reason, apparently, because it felt great. I did 3 laps, stopped for some H2O, and walked a bit. I'd say probably less than a minute. But when I started up again, it felt effortless. It works! Who knew!!! So I did another 3 laps, water, walk, run. Six laps -- easy! About then I started feeling the strain (and boredom) of running in the same direction over and over. So I switched, if only to prevent some weird repetitive stress injury, which I'm sure only I could get. Then I did 2 laps, got some water and walked a bit. Only 2 laps to go!!!!!! And it looked like the 10th would get me to 7 miles after just over one hour. All three goals were thisclose from being met. And then...

...for the first time in SIX years of running, I FELL!! SPLAT. I never ever run on the sidewalk, and today, to get out of the sun, I broke my rule. My foot got caught in an uneven slab and down I went, face first. Luckily (?) I put my arms out in front of me, but MAN did it hurt!!! I scraped my right elbow, left knee, both palms, and my right hip.

And there were people around!!!!! (Who, surprisingly, did nothing to even attempt to offer help. What is wrong with people??) Anyway, it was a good thing that I was only a couple of houses away from ours. I walked home and washed off with my water....and then finished my 10th lap. Yes, I wasn't about to let some blood stop me!

I did it!!! (And I'm sure I'll pay for it tomorrow!)

Tuesday, February 21, 2006

Starting over...again

It's a miracle! I ran yesterday! And today! Hallelujah. The temp was 65 degrees yesterday (admittedly, my preferred temperature for running). So I had absolutely no excuse for not getting out there. And I had the day off, so I really had no excuse. It was so perfect out, my only regret was that I didn't stay out there longer. But considering I haven't run continously for that long in ages, I didn't want to push it.

My goal was just to get my butt out the door and do 30 minutes, but I ended up doing 40. It felt so good. I knew I'd be a little sore this morning (and I was), but it wasn't too bad. I know I ran ridiculously slow...I'd be lucky if I did 4 miles.

I felt like walking this morning, so I headed out thinking I'd walk a lap and jog a lap. I ended up walking one lap and running 4. Not too bad. Three miles total. If I go for my after-dinner walk, I'll cover another mile for a total of 4.

I'm finally starting to look forward to having some time on the weekends to try to do a longer run. I have to get my motivation back somehow!!!!

Tuesday, February 14, 2006

Sidelined...again

Lately I've been feeling more like Buddy's Mama, the Slug, than Buddy's Mama, the Runner. I'm lucky if I get one run in a week. ONE. So so so sad. It's been sub-50 degrees most mornings, which is far too cold for my thinned-out Floridian, albeit former Canadian blood, can handle. I've been so pooped lately, too, which hasn't helped. I think I have SAD. :-S As Buddy would say, Where's Mr. Sunshine??? I miss the heat.

Let's see...what happened since my last post???? Oh yeah...I finally decided to go pick up my race packet the Sat before the Miami 1/2. That Fri (I still get the heebie jeebies just thinking about it), I got violently ill. I had no idea what was happening. I went to bed fine and woke up in the middle of the night with horrible stomach cramps. I stood up and became so dizzy and lightheaded, I was sure I was going to faint. Instead, I threw up. Five times. So gross. Poor Andy. Up and down all night getting me crackers and meds and water and gatorade. I was out of it for four days and couldn't keep food down for two. And I had a fever of 103. What was that??????? Severe dehydration soon set in and I think I lost a couple of pounds...but felt bloated beyond belief. Very weird.

So much for the race. As soon as I recovered (I still can't eat food I ate that day!), Andy got sick. He was worse off than me, minus the vomiting. High fever, chills, sweats, a horrible cough that's he's still trying to shake off.

Then Florida sunk into a deep freeze. I've been trying to get out as much as I can...I'll walk around the block and jog a couple of laps. Hey, it's better than nothing. I HATE bundling up!!!
At least I've been consistently lifting weights and watching what I eat, so the lack of running hasn't made too much of a dent in my pants size (yet). But I miss it!!!!

I did my weights this morning, so bring on the chocolate! :) Happy Valentine's Day, sweetie.